Hobart’s best pub at the historic Brunswick Hotel.
2nd oldest continually licensed pub operating since 1827.
The Brusnwick is more than 185 years old. Licenced since 1831.
The Brunswick was originally built in 1827 by convicts just twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, and remains an important part of Tasmania’s social history.
The Brunswick Hotel initially operated as an illegal grog shop under the title of “Brunswick Wine Vaults”. In 1831 it was granted its first liquor licence and began trading under the name “The Brunswick Hotel”. The hotel is now the oldest operating example of the once numerous drinking establishments that lined Liverpool Street in the 1800’s.
Following a devastating fire in 1926 the façade and parts of the building was rebuilt, but much of the original food and beverage area remains. The Brunswick has recently been refurbished and brought back to life with warm modern finishes that compliment the original 1827 sandstone and brick firepaces and walls.
Come in and see the original sandstone that still bears the chink marks individually cut into it by the stonemasons. These chink marks were their way of leaving their mark or signature. Many of the stonemasons at the time were convicts or ex convicts. The more work that was attributable to them got them closer to their freedom.
Over the years it has operated with many different faces and owners. It has at various times focussed on the accommodation bragging great stables & “electric light” and at one stage even operated as a bottleshop. The current owners bought it in 2010 and have restored it as the iconic Hobart venue it is.